Skip to main content

Trojans dominate all-district teams

Lead Summary

The adage “to the victor goes the spoils” certainly applies to the 2016 Turkey Valley football team.After a brilliant 9-0 regular season, one in which ended with a first-round playoff loss, the Trojans dominated the Eight-Man, District 2 teams and individual awards.Six Trojans — seniors Cody Hackman, Wyatt Blazek, Walker Leibold, Evan Busta and Kelby Reicks and junior Cale Reicks — were named to the all-district first team.Two more Trojans, seniors John Gossling and Nathan Mueterthies, were named to the second team, juniors Will Einwalter and Braeden Baumler were honorable mention selections and Cale Reicks and Mueterthies were both named to the district’s all-academic first team.Hackman was named the district’s Offensive Player of the Year, Blazek was tabbed as the district’s Defensive Player of the Year and Turkey Valley’s Mark Scott was the Coach of the Year.“When you have good team success,” Scott said, “the individual stuff goes along with it. I think all these kids would say these awards are more about the team than themselves.”The rest of the story may be found in the Nov. 15 Tribune.

Thank you for reading!

To read the full version of all available articles, you must be a subscriber to the New Hampton Tribune's website. To become a subscriber, please click here to be taken to our subscription page. If you already are a subscriber, please click here to login to the site and continue reading. Thank you.