Chickasaws reap all-district football honors

Burgart named District 3's lineman of the year; eight Chickasaws on first team


That’s just one descriptive adjective that starts to encompass what the 2021 New Hampton Chickasaw football team was all about this fall.

Dedicated and committed to a cause would also be an accurate assessment of what longtime NH coach Scott Frerichs was able to mold these district championships into.

Don’t forget to throw in talented.

There were incredible individual performances, blowouts and absolute heartbreakers in a season that saw NH bounce back from an 0-2 start and go 4-1 in district play. 

But above all else, New Hampton proved the tradition-rich program that Frerichs has been able to create in his almost 30 years at the helm – is alive and well.
That’s one reason why New Hampton was bestowed with tremendous recognition from the Class 2A, District 3 postseason awards that were doled out recently.

New Hampton featured eight players on the first team all-district squad – with NH senior Jacob Burgart being named lineman of the year in the six-team district.

Only Osage, which gave New Hampton its only blemish of the season in district competition, had more first-teamers with nine players.

Chickasaw senior Drake Wemark, along with sophomore running back Braden McShane, were awarded with first-team distinction.

Along with Burgart on the first team, Chickasaw junior Logan Peterman was named to the first team offensive line.
NH senior signal caller Mason Lane, along with junior linebackers Ben Tenge and Isaac Howe, along with Chickasaw junior defensive back Evan Knowlton, all cracked the first team as well.

There was no second team selected by the coaches, but three Chickasaws earned honorable-mention status in sophomore lineman Gatlin McCumber, senior fullback Tyler Wiltse and junior defensive back Brady Speltz.

Perhaps the icing on the cake for NH’s postseason accolades is that the Chickasaw coaching staff, along with Osage, was selected as the staff of the year in the district.

Frerichs’ staff of Tyler Boos, Chad Pemble, Tate Hofmeister, Coy Weigmann, Dennis Pagel and Terry Sittig helped guide the Chickasaws to a 5-4 overall mark and district championship.

— For more on this story, see the Nov. 9 Tribune

New Hampton Tribune

121 West Main Street
New Hampton, IA 50659
Phone: (641) 394-2111

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Tribune Newsletter feed
Comment Here