Turkey Valley seniors Seth Huinker and Elliott Dietzenbach were first team selections in Eight-Player, District 3.

14 players honored for district champs

Leibold tabbed as offensive MVP; Scott named Coach of the Year for Turkey Valley

In district action, Turkey Valley went an undefeated 7-0 and outscored their opponents by a combined score of 462-117. The individual talent the Trojans possessed did not go unnoticed by the coaches in Eight-Player, District 3. A whopping 14 TV players were awarded as all-district honorees - 13 of which were seniors.

“We have all been playing football together since third grade,” senior Brady Schmitt said. “We have been helping each other throughout the years and have believed in each other the whole way through.”

Headlining these Turkey Valley selections was the Offensive MVP of the district in Ethan Leibold. Although he missed a few games due to injuries, the senior quarterback still posted outstanding numbers. He completed 52-77 passes for 867 yards and boasted 20 touchdowns to just two interceptions. He added another 419 yards on the ground to go along with 15 scores.

For more on this story see the November 26 Tribune.

New Hampton Tribune

10 North Chestnut Ave
New Hampton, IA 50659
Phone: (641) 394-2111
Email: tribune@nhtrib.com

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Tribune Newsletter feed
Comment Here